pattern testing

Two weeks ago I volunteered for pattern testing.

Ester is a quilter and designer of the Netherlands, she asked on her blog “Ipatchandquilt” for testing a foundation piecing star block. The block is similar to a Mandala and it spoke to me.

  1. Print the pattern. As the original foundation is meant for a 8″ block, I scaled the size. It ended up at approximate 28 cm. And I  drew the foundation on a lightweight paper, so I will see the fabric easily when sewing.
  2. 8 foundations.104_1551
  3. Fabric choice: pink and purple, what else 😉104_1552
  4. Start sewing at No. 1104_1554
  5. When ever possible I use chain sewing.104_1555
  6. 104_1556104_1557104_1558104_1559It all went smoothly. All quarters fitted perfectly.104_1565
  7. Step back and admire!

Thank you Ester, it was done in no time and it was fun to sew as well.

4 comments on “pattern testing

  1. That’s a beautiful block. Paper foundation piecing gives such good results.

  2. It’s lovely and looks like it will explode! Lovely colour choices 🙂 Avis x

  3. Esther F. says:

    Hi Elisabeth! What a great post! Fantastic star! Thank you for testing for me!

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

