preparations for quilting

Dear readers,

you may remember my post about the “French Twist” block. One quilter asked in the comment section “How long does it take to make?”
So this is hard to tell. Simply because of what do you take into account, where do you start to count.

I try to tell you the whole story. I stumbled upon this pattern in a Quilt Calendar, which was a very pleasing realisation in bright colours. Then I remembered that I saw this pattern in a magazine. So I leafed thru a staple of quilt magazines until I found it.
Next step was to scan the pattern and enlarge it. The original in the magazine was 6″. I wanted it to be 9″ at least, but it had to fit on a regular sheet of paper, which is A4 in this part of my world.
Next step was a template of cardboard for cutting the fabric. Then printing the pattern without seams on freezer paper, which has to be cut in A4-size to fit in my desktop printer.

(Okay, I feel this post will get too long, so keep it short)

  • fabric choice (4 fabrics with good contrast)
  • cutting fabric
  • iron on the freezer paper
  • tipping the seams in starch and press the seams for appliqué
  • pinning the four quadrants in place (or should I trace the lines for more accuracy?)
  • sewing the appliqué.

It was quite relaxing to get to that last step. I dare to say this was the most pleasant part of the job. I remember that I started to cut the fabric during preparation of lunch and finished the block in the evening. This is not too fast, I suppose 😉

Be it as it may.  I love blocks and quilts in strict geometric pattern, which can be cut by ruler and rottary cutter and can be sewn by machine.

 

2 comments on “preparations for quilting

  1. margit says:

    happy birthday to Elisabeth, irgendwie komme ich heute
    nicht an mein Mailfach somit auf diesem Wege
    lg, aus Bayern, Margit

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

